Go Back   NarkSide Nutrition >
Health & Fitness Discussion
> Fat-loss tips - Diet & Supplement Questions
Connect with Facebook

Fat-loss tips - Diet & Supplement Questions Atkins? South Beach? Carbs? Kcals? Creatine? Protein? What? er? ARRRG! Got a diet or Supplement question? Get help with it here!!!

Old 08-28-2008
NarkSide Virgin

Jakspro is on a distinguished road
Default Thinking about First Show

Well, as the title indicates I'm considering doing my first show, but I have a few questions as to see if I have adequate time to prepare.

I want to shoot for August of '09 -- Giving me 1 full year to bring up my weak body parts (Upper chest and delts).

Here is my dilemma: I had to stop training for about a year, rather, I trained on and off due to finishing my Undergrad research and getting into Grad school, ect. (good news is that I'm a published scientist, got in Grad school, and teaching at my University), sometimes life gets in the way of my fitness. Believe me I really hated letting myself go physically, which led me to a bad mental state of mind. Regardless, I'll get off my soap box and get back to the point. During that year of not being consistent I lost a decent amount of muscle and gained a significant amount of fat.

My stats:
5'10
BF 18% - Used an electronic scale and definitely think its over estimating but for conservative sake we can use that

What I'm asking is, in order not to get my hopes up (and be realistic) would you think it is possible (with unlimited dedication) to be able to step on stage next fall considering I'm at an upper limit on BF?

I'm really embarrassed of asking such a vague question, but I need to get a reality check - as in my mind, I believe I can and I have to let go of this bias.

It will be a tested show, and I know 1st is probably out of reach, but I just want to step on stage confidently and not disappoint the sport.

PS. I'll try to get some photos up, if that'll better assist y'all.
Old 08-28-2008
Owner | Administrator